Honour Board

Emergency nursing is a distinct speciality that encompasses the management and treatment of patients in emergency situations, across all age groups and conditions, from minor illnesses and injuries, to trauma and disasters.  Education, training and research are vital in enabling emergency nurses to provide safe, high quality emergency care. 

We honour recipients of CENA Awards and Grants below

Australasian Emergency Department of the Year

2020 Princess Alexandra Hospital ED, Qld
2019 Wollongong Hospital ED, NSW
2018 Alfred Emergency, Vic
2017 Box Hill Hospital ED, Vic
2016 QEII Jubilee Hospital ED, Qld
2015 Dandenong Hospital ED, Vic
2014 Prince of Wales Hospital ED, NSW
2013 St George Hospital ED, NSW

Australasian Emergency Nurse of the Year

2020 Kate Sandry, FCENA, Nurse Manager, Dandenong Emergency Department, Vic
2019 John Thompson, FCENA,Nurse Practitioner, Royal Melbourne Hospital, University of Melbourne, Vic
2018 Marc Marquez, FCENA, Clinical Nurse Specialist, the Alfred Hospital, Vic
2017 Vanessa Gorman, NUM, Northpark Private Emergency Department, Vic
2016 Sharyn McGregor, Western Hospital & Royal Flying Doctor Service, Vic
2015 Sarah Cornish, Clinical Nurse Educator, Western Health, Vic
2014 Wayne Varndell, Clinical Nurse Consultant, Prince of Wales Hospital ED, NSW
2013 Simone Andrews, Helen Grant, Clinical Nurse Educators, Mater Private Emergency Department

Julie Finucane OAM Medal for Leadership in Emergency Nursing

2019 Professor Margaret Fry, University of Technology Sydney, NSW
2017 Professor Kate Curtis, The University of Sydney, NSW
2015 Dr Dianne Crellin, Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne University, Vic
2013 Professor Julie Considine, Deakin University, Vic
2011 Patricia Allen, Royal Hobart Hospital, Tas
2009 Julie Finucane OAM, QEII Hospital, Qld

New Investigator Research Grant

2020 Dr Clifford Connell, Monash University, Vic
2019 Lucinda Mithen, University of Newcastle, NSW
2018 Tamsin Jones, University of Sydney, Vic

Innovation in Emergency Care Grant

2019 Belinda Munroe
2018 Not awarded
2017 Claire Hutchinson 
2016 Belinda Munroe

Philippa Moore Publication Prize

2020 Kate Curtis, Belinda Munroe, Connie Van and Tiana-Lee Elphick
The implementation and usability of HIRAID, a structured approach to emergency nursing assessment
2019 Margaret Murphy, Andrea McCloughlen, Kate Curtis
2018 Sharyn Ireland, Rachel Cross, Kelly Decker
2017 Not awarded
2016 Margaret Murphy, Kate Curtis, Andrea McCloughlen
2015 Natasha Jennings (and co-authors Glenn Gardner, Gerard O'Reilly & Biswadev Mitra)
2014 Jennifer Hosking, Julie Considine, Natisha Sands
2013 Julie Considine, Roslyn Payne, Stacey Williamson, Judy Currey


Elaine Killeen Continuing Professional Development Scholarship

2020 Not awarded
2019 Kelly Green
2018 Kristy Sen
Vanessa Leonard-Roberts
  This award was previously a Victorian award but was nationalised in 2018