CENA is keen to recognise the great work of colleagues and therefore has established a number of annual awards and scholarships to acknowledge those nurses and teams that are making a notable contribution to emergency care.

Conference Awards

There are a number of scientific awards conferred at the conference to papers and posters in several categories. All papers and posters presented at the conference are peer reviewed by a panel against the criteria set for each award and the winners are announced during the closing session of the conference.

Each year the following awards are presented:

  • CENA Best Paper 1 and Best Paper 2
  • CENA Best Poster 1 and Best Poster 2
  • Australasian Society for Emergency Medicine Best Rural Paper
  • Australasian Society for Emergency Medicine Best Metropolitan Paper


There are many emergency nurses who work tirelessly providing high standards of care, advocating for their patients, educating their colleagues, contributing to the evidence base and promoting the specialty. This award is designed to recognise those nurses. You are all encouraged to nominate an emergency nurse that you consider is exceptional for the CENA Australasian Emergency Nurse of the Year Award. Read More
Emergency Departments are busy and dynamic places to work. There are emergency department teams across Australia which have made substantial improvement to their service, have endured considerable challenge, implemented innovative solutions to problems and contribute to emergency care as leaders. If you think that your emergency department team is a team such as this then nominate them for the CENA Australasian Emergency Department of the Year Award. Read More
The Julie Finucane OAM Medal for Leadership in Emergency Nursing is the highest honour of the College of Emergency Nursing Australasia Ltd in recognition of the College’s Inaugural Executive Director, Ms Julie Finucane OAM RFD. It is bestowed upon a member of the College who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the leadership of the profession and discipline of emergency nursing, and to the College of Emergency Nursing Australasia. CLOSED
The Philippa Moore Publication Prize was established by the Emergency Nurses Association of Victoria to honour a highly respected colleague who made a substantial contribution to emergency nursing in Victoria. She was an active member of the Emergency Nurses’ Special Interest Group and the Emergency Nurses Association of Victoria, a positive mentor, a motivated teacher and highly committed to advancing the speciality of emergency nursing. Sadly, Philippa died in 2003 after a short illness. CENA recognises the importance of publication to the practice and scholarship of emergency nursing and continues this legacy to an advocate for emergency nursing. The CENA Philippa Moore Publication Prize is an award of up to $500 designed to reward and encourage CENA members to publish articles that are relevant to emergency nursing. Read More
The Ben Morley Scholarship is offered to support a CENA member to undertake education, research or quality improvement activities which focus on disaster management. The award is jointly offered by CENA and Multigate Medical Devices. Read More

Honour Boards







CENA Grants & Scholarships

Emergency nursing is a distinct speciality that encompasses the management and treatment of patients in emergency situations, across all age groups and conditions, from minor illnesses and injuries, to trauma and disasters.  Education, training and research are vital in enabling emergency nurses to provide safe, high quality emergency care.  The College of Emergency Nursing Australasia grants and scholarships provide support to its Members and Fellows seeking to improve clinical practice, healthcare delivery and obtain a higher level of education and professional development.

The purpose of the Innovation in Emergency Care Grant is to foster and support innovative approaches to an existing problem or issue with the focus of improving patient-centred emergency care, enhancing safety and/or patient experience. Award Amount: $2,000  Read More 
The Elaine Killeen Continuing Professional Development Scholarship is the first memorial scholarship by the College in recognition of the outstanding contribution made by Elaine Killeen to emergency nursing education. The purpose of the Elaine Killeen Continuing Professional Development Scholarship is to provide funds to those Members and Fellows of the College to support their continuing professional development (CPD) as an Emergency Nurse.  Read More
The purpose of the Indigenous Emergency Nurses Scholarship is to encourage and support Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori emergency nurses undertaking postgraduate education relevant to emergency nursing. Award Amount: $2,000.  Read More
Our aim of the Early Career Researcher Grant is to support the development of established researchers conducting research that expands emergency nursing science and knowledge, patient safety and quality of emergency care. Award Amount $4,000 Further Information
The purpose of the Novice Researcher Grant is to provide funds for emergency nurses embarking on research to expand emergency nursing science and knowledge, patient safety and quality of emergency care. Award Amount: $4,000 Further Information